[Epub] ➚ The Twelve Tribes of Hattie ➟ Ayana Mathis – Anguillais.us

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie A Debut Of Extraordinary Distinction Ayana Mathis Tells The Story Of The Children Of The Great Migration Through The Trials Of One Unforgettable Family In 1923, Fifteen Year Old Hattie Shepherd Flees Georgia And Settles In Philadelphia, Hoping For A Chance At A Better Life Instead, She Marries A Man Who Will Bring Her Nothing But Disappointment And Watches Helplessly As Her Firstborn Twins Succumb To An Illness A Few Pennies Could Have Prevented Hattie Gives Birth To Nine Children Whom She Raises With Grit And Mettle And Not An Ounce Of The Tenderness They Crave She Vows To Prepare Them For The Calamitous Difficulty They Are Sure To Face In Their Later Lives, To Meet A World That Will Not Love Them, A World That Will Not Be Kind Captured Here In Twelve Luminous Narrative Threads, Their Lives Tell The Story Of A Mother S Monumental Courage And The Journey Of A Nation Beautiful And Devastating, Ayana Mathis S The Twelve Tribes Of Hattie Is Wondrous From First To Last Glorious, Harrowing, Unexpectedly Uplifting, And Blazing With Life An Emotionally Transfixing Page Turner, A Searing Portrait Of Striving In The Face Of Insurmountable Adversity, An Indelible Encounter With The Resilience Of The Human Spirit And The Driving Force Of The American Dream, Mathis S First Novel Heralds The Arrival Of A Major New Voice In Contemporary Fiction.

[Epub] ➚ The Twelve Tribes of Hattie  ➟ Ayana Mathis – Anguillais.us
  • Hardcover
  • 243 pages
  • The Twelve Tribes of Hattie
  • Ayana Mathis
  • English
  • 14 June 2019
  • 0385350287

    10 thoughts on “[Epub] ➚ The Twelve Tribes of Hattie ➟ Ayana Mathis – Anguillais.us


  1. says:

    Rating 3.5 starsAw, hell How am I supposed to rate this There s some powerful writing here, but the structure of the novel prevents it from gaining much momentum Each chapter is devoted to one or two of Hattie s children, and after they get that one chapter, they re mostly abandoned for the remainder of the novel Each character has to be introduced and developed within the space of one long chapter, never to be heard from a...


  2. says:

    After sticking with this book for five chapters, I am giving up I don t typically enjoy Oprah s recommendations but this one has been so well reviewed The writing is good but it reads like a series of short stories about each of Hattie s children I would rather haveof a plot None of the characters were relatable or likable to me, especially Hattie I have no tolerance for a cold, distant mother.I concur with The Chicago Tribune s review Our great novelists give us fully rounded charac After sticking with this book for five chapters, I am giving up I don t typically enjoy Oprah s recommendations but this one has been so well reviewed The writing is good but ...


  3. says:

    This is a beautiful and heartbreaking book It is a novel, but it is told as a collection of stories, all taken from the complex, broken, and vivid lives of one woman and her family over 4 generations Some have said it is a story of The Great Migration, when Southern Blacks moved out of the South starting around 1915, and it is true that many of the hardships and struggles are representative of families migrating at that time But at its core this book is the...


  4. says:

    I heard an interview with Oprah and Ayana Mathis and was intrigued Although I ve given this book 4 stars, I would have liked to seeconnectivity between the characters The book readlike a collection of separate short stories rather than a novel Each of the characters are sadly flawed, with troubled lives, different yet similar to their mother s I loved the picture the author painted of each of them Some of Oprah s comments were insightful, but many were along the lines of oh, I I heard an interview with Oprah and Ayana Mathis and was intrigued Although I ve given this book 4 stars, I would have liked to seeconnectivity between the characters The book readlike a collection of separate short stories rather than a novel Each of the characters are sadly flawed...


  5. says:

    i have no idea how to rate this book it s beautiful in so many ways, but it s not a book one likes so terribly painful maybe i ll write a review i have to recover first REVIEW 3 23 13there is only one way i can make myself like not appreciate, not admire, not respect, because those i already do like this book, and it is if i imagine it representing the author s childhood in the acknowledgments she writes To the Philadelphia School for Girls, for being a light in the darkest part of my i have no idea how to rate this book it s beautiful in so many ways, but it s not a book one likes so terribly painful maybe i ll write a review i have to recover first REVIEW 3 23 13there is only one way i can make myself like not appreciate, not admire, not respect, because those i already do like this book, and it is if i ima...


  6. says:

    Going to read this despite the fact that s it s Oprah. The Great Migration fascinates me Well that was depressing Not a single character to care about and this was NOT the Great Migration that I know about Not reccommended.


  7. says:

    I read this late last year and at first I was gravitating towards leaving it unrated I thought I wouldn t be able to give it a rating that would adequately express how I felt about what I had read Sure, I liked the writing in some parts and I enjoyed some chaptersthan others but overall I couldn t say whether I liked or didn t like it hence my dilemma The author set up the book with each chapter being from the point of view of Hattie s children and while some worked, some fell really fl I read this la...


  8. says:

    Allegorical novel about slavery and race Uses biblical references twelve tribes of Israel in the same vein as Toni Morrison Bleak But, then Oprah loves her some cheerless storytelling.


  9. says:

    It is not easy being a mother It doesn t matter what year you were born, your race, your economic status and it doesn t matter how many children you have Hattie knew her life wasn t going anywhere fast in Georgia in 1923 so she quickly flees to Philadelphia and marries only to have her life getcomplicated instead of easier Her first joy is the birth of twins and her first and possibly greatest tragedy happens at their death from pneumonia Each chapter is narrated by one of Hattie s ni It is not easy being a mother It doesn t matter what year you were born, your race, your economic status and it doesn t matter how many children you have Hattie knew her life wasn t going anywhere fast in Georgia in 1923 so she quickly flees to Philadelphia and marries only to have her life getcomplicated instead of easier Her first joy is the birth of twins and her first and possibly greatest tragedy happens at their death from pneumonia Each chapter is narrated by one of Hattie s nine surviving children Through them we see a harsh side of her, her disappointment in life that shows itself at every turn and the love of her children which she keeps to herself Fans of The Color Purple and Their Eyes Were Watching God will find themselves falling for The Twelve Tribes of Hattie Each narrative will break your heart and bind you to this close but vulnerable family Book clubs would be wise to choose this book as...


  10. says:

    I ve read a lot of Oprah s book club books and I ve enjoyed most of them This was no exception and really I d rate if 3.5 stars if possible I read it on my kindle and was surprised when I turned the page and it was acknowledgments , I wasn t ready for the story to end I suppose there is no ending, that Hattie and her children s lives just continue on the same dysfunctional path because it s very difficult when people are born in poverty, oppression, and abuse to change Maybe there s hope fo I ve read a lot of Oprah s book club books and I ve enjoyed most of them This was no exception and really I d rate if 3.5 stars if possible I read it on my kindle and was surprised when I turned the page and it was acknowledgments , I wasn t ready for the story to end I suppose there is no ending, that Hattie and her children s lives just continue on the same dysfunctional path because it s very difficult when p...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *